TWD: Coconut Tea Cake

 I’m so glad it’s Tuesday.  Tuesday means I get to tell you about the latest Tuesdays With Dorie recipe.   In case you missed it, Tuesdays with Dorie is a fun internet group slowly cooking our way through Dorie Greenspan’s book, Baking From My Home To Yours.  This week, Carmen of Carmen Cooks chose Dorie’s Coconut Tea Cake.

Dorie offered several options for this cake including the possible addition of lemon, lime, orange, spice or sesame seeds.  I made the basic recipe with the exception of adding an extra tablespoon (or two) of butter to the batter and I used a tablespoon of dark rum instead of 2 teaspoons.  Dorie serves this cake plain.  I decided to dress it up with a small amount of dulce de leche from last week, a glaze I made using leftover coconut milk and powdered sugar, as well as chopped pecans.

My coworkers enjoyed this cake although more than one said “the topping was the best part”.  If you’d like to try this recipe, you can find it on pages 194-195 of Baking From My Home to Yours.  Or, you can find it on Carmen’s blog: Carmen Cooks.

If you decide to try this cake – and I hope you will – be sure to keep your eye on it.  Mine was done after just 50 minutes (instead of the recommended 60 – 65 minutes).

It’s Thyme To Eat!

Carol

Explore posts in the same categories: Dessert, Tuesdays with Dorie, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “TWD: Coconut Tea Cake”

  1. bexbakes Says:

    What a good idea to add a tasty topping. Fact: I usually enjoy the frosting/topping better than whatever it is on.

    Beautiful cake!


  2. i stuck with the original too. and I LOVE your prissy topping lol

  3. Mary Says:

    I just had to come and see what your ‘prissy’ topping was! It looks good! Too bad I ate all my dulce de leche:(

  4. Susan Says:

    Oh my! The topping does look divine! Great job!

  5. carmencooks Says:

    Oooh your cake is gorgeous with those great toppings! Thanks for baking with me this week.

  6. Michelle Says:

    Wow you really made it look great! Very nice!

  7. Meg Says:

    YUM! Your cake looks so yummy! Great idea with the left over dulce!

  8. Jessica Says:

    Wow, that glaze looks incredible. I made the mocha bundt this week because I was out of coconut milk. I love reading the posts for this cake because I’m getting some wonderful ideas.

  9. Lillian Says:

    The glaze does look good, I must admit. Never would have thought of adding the dulce de leche.

  10. mikejdunlap Says:

    I’m with you – mine were done much earlier – but were still moist. The glaze really does look wonderful. AND love the dulce de leche – I still have some left… hm…

  11. Becky O. Says:

    love the way you topped yours. ahhh coconut and dulce de leche! sounds like a winner!

    i made mine today and will post on tuesday (i added grapefruit juice and zest! YUM!)


  12. I made mine today and also added extra rum. Your topping looks amazing. Great idea to do rum and icing sugar. Might try that to make it slighthy prettier.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

