TWD: Sweet Cream Biscuits

I’ve been AWOL for a couple of weeks while I was traveling (& recovering from my vacation!).  I picked a good week to come back to Tuesdays with Dorie.  Melissa of Love at First Bite chose Dorie’s Sweet Cream Biscuits.  It was a very easy, low stress recipe.

These biscuits came together really quickly.

Several other TWD posters said that their biscuits didn’t rise as expected so I used extra baking powder.

  Even so, they didn’t rise as much as I had hoped.  They were very good, but crumbly.

Honestly, I think part of the problem was that I overworked the dough.

You may remember I recently tried Peter Reinhart’s biscuits from Artisan Breads Every Day.  I’m sorry, Dorie, but I liked his better.  Yes, they were more difficult to make and yes, they probably contained more fat.  But, I preferred them.  I may try these again but today’s attempt left me underwhelmed.

It’s Thyme to Eat!

Carol

Explore posts in the same categories: Bread & Breakfast, Tuesdays with Dorie, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “TWD: Sweet Cream Biscuits”

  1. Susan Says:

    I have heard a lot of good buzz on Peter’s book. Maybe I should look it up. :) Your biscuits look good.

  2. Michelle Says:

    I love that biscuit cutter. I think your biscuits look great!

  3. Michelle Says:

    I just wanted to say for the nice compliment..I always wanted to have a bakery and call it Flourchild..funny how dreams get away from us. I may be a little old granny before that happens!


  4. crumbly is good IMO.
    they look great!

  5. Mary Says:

    Isn’t it funny how we often need to recover from our vacations? I think I overworked my biscuits too, so I’ll probably go back to my regular recipe next time. Yours sure look good with strawberry jam though!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

