TWD: A Double Dip – Applesauce Spice Bars

I try very hard to not take the Lord’s name in vain, but there’s no other way to say this:  Oh. My. God!  Oh my God, Dorie’s Applesauce Spice Bars are wonderful.  Marvelous.  Scrumptious.  Beautiful.  Delicious.  What else can I say?  These are the best.

This is a Tuesdays With Dorie “Rewind” recipe.  The group made this recipe back in August before I joined the group.  Having read rave reviews about this recipe all over the internet, I’ve been wanting to try it for a long time.  So, this week I did a Double Dip of Dorie – Burnt Sugar Ice Cream AND Applesauce Spice Bars.

OMG!

The bars themselves are delightful but then they are topped with a most amazing caramel glaze.  You are going to want to make a double batch of this glaze because 1) more is better and 2) you are going to eat a significant amount of it while glazing the cake.  Trust me.  You won’t be able to resist.

How can you not run your finger along those drips? 

This recipe was chosen by Karen of Something Sweet.  The recipe can be found on her blog or in Dorie Greenspan’s book: Baking From My Home to Yours.  Make it now.  Don’t let another day go by without trying these bars.

I’m going to stop raving about this recipe in a minute but, first, I gotta say: If the only recipes in this book I liked were this one and the biscotti recipe (which isn’t the case at all), I’d consider the purchase of Dorie’s book “money well spent”.  These are two awesome recipes.

I’ll stop now cause you know what?

It’s Thyme To Eat!

Carol

Explore posts in the same categories: Dessert, Tuesdays with Dorie, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “TWD: A Double Dip – Applesauce Spice Bars”

  1. nickki Says:

    I LOVE this recipe! One of my favourites from BFMHTY. I so wanted to make these to go with the ice cream but I didn’t have any apple sauce (and not enough apples to make any!) I agree with making a double batch of the frosting, it is so good!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

