Tuesdays with Dorie: Honey Wheat Cookies

Ok, I know, the name “Honey Wheat Cookies” doesn’t sound that appealing.  But, don’t turn up your nose yet.  These little guys are from  Baking: From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan.  Over on Tuesdays with Dorie, Michelle of Flourchild, chose this recipe.  The recipe can be found on Michelle’s blog here.

These are the balls of dough before being flattened slightly by hand.

The dough contains 1/2 cup of honey and 1/2 cup of wheat germ.  Then, the balls of dough are rolled in an additional 1/2 cup of wheat germ.  Wheat germ and honey?  Sounds healthy to me!  Well, almost.

I undercooked the first batch.  Let them get good and golden brown before you take them out of the oven.  Dorie’s instruction is they should be ” just firm to the touch”.  If you do as you’re told, you’ll be just fine.

I was a little underwhelmed with these the day I baked them.  Maybe because I ate too much dough?  I couldn’t help it.  The dough was delicious.  Anyway, now that they have sat a day, I really like them.  Enough that I’ll probably make them again.  I’m going to get a cup of tea to go with them and then…

It’s Thyme To Eat!

Explore posts in the same categories: Dessert, Tuesdays with Dorie, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

