TWD: Toasted Coconut Custart Tart

Thanks to Beryl of Cinemon Girl who picked today’s Tuesday With Dorie recipe.  My favorite part of this recipe was that it could be made in different sessions.  The custard can be done up to 3 days ahead of time.  The shortbread crust was also made when it was convenient for me.  Today, allI had to do was make the whipped cream topping, assemble the tart, and serve it.

The recipe called for 2 tablespoons of dark rum in the custard.  That was a little too much for me, I think.  So, I left out the 2 teaspoons of rum the recipe called for in the topping.

I’m still a little undecided about this tart.  I liked it.  I really did.  I’m just not sure that I loved it.  Every last crumb that I took to work got eaten, though, so it must not have been too bad.

Fortunately for me, I saved myself another piece.  Think I’ll go eat that right now!  Then I can decide how much I love this tart…

This recipe can be found on pages 344 and 345 of Dorie Greenspan’s book, Baking: From My Home To Yours.  It can also be found on Beryl’s blog, Cinemon Girl.

Here is what the Tuesdays With Dorie group will be baking for the rest of March:

March 9, 2010- Mike of Ugly Food Dude selected Thumbprints For Us Big Guys on page 164.

March 16, 2010- Rachelle of Mommy? I’m Hungry! chose Soft Chocolate and Raspberry Tart on page 354.

March 23, 2010- Jodie of Beansy Loves Cake decided on Dulce de Leche Duos on page 161.

March 30, 2010- Carmen of Carmen Cooks singled out Coconut Tea Cake on pages 194 and 195.

 It’s Thyme to Eat!

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Dessert, Tuesdays with Dorie, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

