TWD: Thumbprints For Us Big Guys

What a fun recipe!   Mike of  Ugly Food Dude chose these cookies for the bakers of Tuesdays With Dorie.  Not only were they fun to make; they were also delicious.  I loved them, my son loved them, and my coworkers loved them.

The name – Thumbprints For Us Big Guys – is a little misleading.  I envisioned bigger cookies.  Not so.  In fact, Dorie says to roll only a teaspoon of dough into balls.  Several TWD bakers had trouble with their cookies cracking excessively which I think was primarily due to trying to make them too big.  In fact, Dorie recommended using the end of wooden spoon to make the indentation before baking.  I was thinking “Oh, Dorie, you have failed me this time.  That can’t be right”.  She was right (although I enlarged the indentations a bit after baking).  Here is a dough ball with his baby print:

After baking, the cookies looked like this:

The recipe gave several options for different nuts to use in the cookie dough.  I chose almonds.  It’s important to note that the ground nuts should be measured after grinding.  The dough will be too dry and crumbly if you measure first.  After baking, sprinkle with powdered sugar.

Once the cookies have cooled, it’s time for the fun part – filling them!  I chose to fill half with blackberry preserves (in the back of the following photo).  The other half I filled with chocolate – 3 ounces semi-sweet chocolate, 3 tbsp butter, and 1/2 tsp corn syrup, melted in a double boiler.

 This recipe can be found on page 164 of Dorie Greenspan’s book, Baking: From My Home To Yours.  The only change I made was the addition of 1/2 teaspoon of salt.

Lean you head close to your computer screen while you look at this little guy:

Can you hear it?  He’s saying “All the other cookies got eaten except me.  Eat me, eat me”. 

Never mind. 

I already ate him.

Thanks, Mike, for the good recipe pick.  I’m sure you’re not ugly and your food certainly isn’t!

I’d say It’s Thyme to Eat but the cookies are all gone!

Explore posts in the same categories: Dessert, Tuesdays with Dorie, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “TWD: Thumbprints For Us Big Guys”

  1. Jessica Says:

    Both of your variations look really tasty to me. The blackberry preserves just sound delicious and the chocolate filling reminds me of bakery cookies that I really like. I’m so glad that these were a hit at your house.

  2. Carol Says:

    Thanks for visiting ThymeAndSpace, Jessica. I like your idea of playing with pecans in this recipe. I think that’s a great idea!


  3. Yummm…I thought of using chocolate too – I love the hazelnut/choc combo!


Leave a Reply

