Barefoot Bloggers: Individual Meat Loaves

I admit it.  I was extremely skeptical of this recipe.  Oh, Contessa, I apologize.  Who knew there was so much room for improvement in my meatloaf recipe?

Tonya of  What’s on My Plate?  chose this recipe for the Barefoot Bloggers.  I made it exactly as written with two exceptions: I used dried thyme instead of fresh and I used fresh breadcrumbs.

The only change I’ll make next time is to try these with a lower fat meat.

Click  for the recipe.  Here are the ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon good olive oil
  • 3 cups chopped yellow onions (3 onions)
  • 1 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme leaves
  • 2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 3 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/3 cup canned chicken stock or broth
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
  • 2 1/2 pounds ground chuck (81 percent lean)
  • 1/2 cup plain dry bread crumbs (recommended: Progresso)
  • 2 extra-large eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 cup ketchup (recommended: Heinz)

I’m telling you: this is a GREAT recipe.  WE loved it. I will definitely make it again.

It’s Thyme to Eat!

Carol

Explore posts in the same categories: Barefoot Blogging, Main Dish, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

