TWD: A Hit and A Miss

This week’s recipe on Tuesdays With Dorie was Chockablock Cookies.  It was chosen by Mary of Popsicles and Sandy Feet.  If you visit Mary’s website, you can get the recipe or it can be found on page 86 of Baking From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

There are many, many possible variations on these cookies.  You really should read the discussion about that here because these gals came up with some variations that sound great.  I made them with raisins, bittersweet chocolate chips and, knowing that I’m not a big fan of molasses, I subbed Lyle’s Golden Syrup for half of the molasses.  I should have taken a pass on making these cookies because a) I don’t like molasses and b) I don’t like fruit and chocolate together.  But, I wanted to try them.  Mistake.  I thought they were awful.  Absolutely awful. 

 And now, the good news:

I also made Dorie’s Lenox Almond Biscotti found on page 141 of Baking From My Home to Yours.  This is a recipe that the Tuesdays with Dorie group made before I joined them.  These biscotti turned out perfectly.  I absolutely loved them.  I am sure that I will make this recipe again and again.  Thanks, Dorie, for this recipe!  It is wonderful. 

It’s Thyme to Eat!

Carol

Explore posts in the same categories: Barefoot Blogging, Dessert, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

11 Comments on “TWD: A Hit and A Miss”

  1. cindy harris Says:

    I have never made biscotti, maybe I should try it! Sorry the cookies were a miss, that’s why we try many different things. Have a great week.


  2. they look wholesome, hearty and chewy. 🙂

  3. Teanna Says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE Those biscotti! My favorites 🙂 Sorry you hated these though!

  4. Flourchild Says:

    Bummer..make them like I did and Im sure you’ll love them!!! NO dried fruit crap in mine..just sweet goodness!

  5. Clivia Says:

    Ooo. I’ve been eyeing that biscotti recipe. Now I’ll definitely try it.

  6. bexbakes Says:

    I recently made the biscotti as well, and they are delicious. Sorry you didn’t like the cookies!

  7. uclala Says:

    Sorry the cookies didn’t taste good for you! I just made Flapjacks from epicurious.com that called for golden syrup and I’d never heard of that before! (Couldn’t find it either so used maple syrup instead) Try it since you have the golden syrup – it’s easy and tasty! =)
    I baked the Lenox Almond Biscotti before I joined the group and LOVE them too! I use them in Christmas gifts.

    • Carol M Says:

      Thanks for the recipe link. I will probably try that recipe because a) I really enjoyed British flapjacks while we were living in England and b) that bottle of Golden Syrup cost a fortune so I’d better use it. Thanks again!

  8. Meg Says:

    Sorry you didn’t like these! I thought that they were pretty good, but the molasses was a touch much! The biscotti looks great!

  9. pamela Says:

    I’m sorry you didn’t like the cookies. That’s too bad. But your biscotti looks great! It’s one of my favorite recipes.

  10. Lynne Says:

    I love molasses in many recipes, but not these cookies. The golden syrup was a good idea. I do have to say that the cookies tasted less of molasses after a day. My husband liked them, however. Thanks for stopping by my blog.


Leave a Reply

